Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)
FAQ Calendar Arcade Today's Posts Search

Old 04-05-2004, 12:13 PM   #1
Zarr
Symbol of Cyric

I'm having problems with my BG1 game

To cut a long story short, it will only install to about 85% and when I try to leave the Friendly Arm Inn it crashes. So I need to clean up the registry of any BG1 files, so it will hopefully install properly.

I'm not an expert on computers unfortunatly so could someone please give me a step by step guide on how to do it, starting at the beginning.

It will be very appreciated, thank you! [img]smile.gif[/img]
Old 04-05-2004, 12:22 PM   #2
Bozos of Bones
Apophis

About modifying registry - If you're not an expert, don't do it.It's that simple. Too much stuff can go wrong otherwise.
Old 04-05-2004, 12:31 PM   #3
slicer15
Symbol of Cyric

You can get registry cleaners, though...not sure if it'll fix the problem, but it should so.

Try this

Hope it helps! [img]smile.gif[/img]

[ 04-05-2004, 12:32 PM: Message edited by: slicer15 ]
Old 04-05-2004, 03:38 PM   #4
WillowIX
Apophis

Otherwise it's

Start --> Run --> regedit

Then Edit --> search. Enter Baldur and search for that. No other software then Baldur's gate should have that information in the registry (I did a search and didn't find anything). When a match is found it will be selected. Now, before deleting it, I would recommend you back it up. Do so by exporting the value and saving it somewhere on your drive. After you've removed the values containing "Baldur" (nothing else!) restart the computer. Hopefully it will boot normally. Otherwise import the values you exported earlier.