Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion > General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005)

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-29-2002, 12:09 AM   #1
Animal
Gold Dragon
 

Join Date: March 29, 2002
Location: Canada
Age: 46
Posts: 2,534
Seems everyones plugging broadband (cable or dsl) these days. It would be interesting to know what percentage of you use either or? I was on dial up for about a year and finally switched to broadband and can't believe I actually managed to survive with a dial up connection. Downloading demos and patches at 400kb/s on broadband sure beats the 4kb/s on dial up. If your not on broadband, why not?
__________________
It\'s all fun and games until somebody loses an eye...then it becomes a sport.<br /> [img]\"http://members.shaw.ca/mtholdings/bsmeter.gif\" alt=\" - \" />
Animal is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 12:31 AM   #2
johnny
40th Level Warrior
 
Ms Pacman Champion
Join Date: April 15, 2002
Location: Utrecht The Netherlands
Age: 52
Posts: 16,977
Dunno, but it won't be long, this is too expensive !
__________________
johnny is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 12:52 AM   #3
LennonCook
Jack Burton
 

Join Date: November 10, 2001
Location: Bathurst & Orange, in constant flux
Age: 31
Posts: 5,452
I`m on ADSL [img]smile.gif[/img]
Upload tops 128kb/s, download averages 490 kb/s...
But I do still use a 56k sometimes... if I have problems with my ADSL, I can easily tell if it`s a line problem by switching to the dialup... if I have the same problem, it`s the line; if I don`t, then it`s 2 hours on the phone with telstra helpdesk convincing the computer illiterate person on the other end that no it is NOT a problem on my end... [img]tongue.gif[/img]
LennonCook is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 04:08 AM   #4
FelixJaeger
Symbol of Cyric
 

Join Date: May 26, 2002
Location: The Cloudy Town Of Hellview
Age: 30
Posts: 1,202
I WANT BROADBAND like tis so annoying when you run out of time to download thigns and i hate waiting for twenty minutes to go into sites when there busy....

J:J

[img]graemlins/knight.gif[/img]
FelixJaeger is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 04:19 AM   #5
Glorfindel
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice
 

Join Date: January 9, 2002
Location: Mt. Gambier, Australia
Age: 31
Posts: 3,337
Ive only got a 24Kb.... which means I think Ill have to upgrade so I can play NwN multiplayer [img]smile.gif[/img]
Glorfindel is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 04:23 AM   #6
Zidane
Manshoon
 

Join Date: January 27, 2002
Location: Birmingham, England
Age: 62
Posts: 241
I have broadband, and the difference is amazing.

Trouble is you get complacent about it, and if you ever have to use dial up for anything on another machine, it is soooo frustrating.

Plus with broadband it doesn't matter if I don't log out, or if I leave my machine on constantly, I only pay one price per month and I am connected permanently. Bliss. Plus I get 30mb of web space for my website, upgradeable to IGB I think.

Seeya

Lady Zidane
__________________
<br /><br />You know what thought did? He only thought he did.
Zidane is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 08:52 AM   #7
Lord Shield
Guest
 

Posts: n/a
I will be getting broadband on Monday - BWAHAHA
 
Old 06-29-2002, 11:15 AM   #8
Rimjaw
Red Wizard of Thay
 

Join Date: May 24, 2002
Location: East Coast, Singapore
Age: 35
Posts: 890
I already have Broadband MUAHAHAHAHA!
Rimjaw is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 12:34 PM   #9
Blade
Emerald Dragon
 

Join Date: March 12, 2001
Location: spokane wa usa
Age: 34
Posts: 926
got dsl about a year ago, before that, from netscape v1.0 we used a dial-up. Main reason why we shitched so we could use the net and the phone at the same time and the price finally came down enough so we could afford it. Our connection rate is 256kbs up and down stream.
__________________
<br /><br />All blades cut, be they made from metal or wood, but the sharpest and deadliest blade is the one of knowledge, and that is the least used.<br />An Archmage of the HADB
Blade is offline  
Old 06-29-2002, 12:38 PM   #10
Legolas
Jack Burton
 

Join Date: March 31, 2001
Location: The zephyr lands beneath the brine.
Age: 34
Posts: 5,459
I use dial-up. But that certainly isn't by choice...
Legolas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am Dial-Up Bahamut NWN Mod: Escape from Undermountain 6 12-04-2004 06:39 AM
Dial Up Felix The Assassin General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 8 05-04-2004 02:48 PM
Dial up tech Q Hayashi General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 5 03-05-2003 07:07 AM
Ice Temple need help with Dial Avatar Icewind Dale | Heart of Winter | Icewind Dale II Forum 4 02-07-2003 06:50 PM
Plz help! - Stuck trying to get to Sun Dial Ragdoll Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum 2 10-27-2002 11:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved