Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-12-2006, 03:33 AM   #1
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: March 1, 2001
Location: Midlands, South Carolina
Age: 43
Posts: 14,749
Looks like I caught my first ever virus, thanks to a sneaky one getting into an online game that I sometimes play with my brother-in-law, called ConquerOnline. I went to their website today and read that a recent update had sent us a virus, and that they did not catch it in time because it was not detected by Norton. They claim that only McAfee Plus was confirmed to be of any help, so I downloaded their trial version, taking their advice and having to remove Avast before installation.

Then I boot into Safe Mode and try to access McAfee, but it will not turn on! The danged thing don't work in Safe Mode, so I had to reboot and let Windows boot up and from normal operation is the only way I can get McAfee to actually run a scan.

Crap that it is. Its running now...let's see if it can actually detect the blamed virus in the next hour that it'll take to run.
__________________
Larry_OHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 04:32 AM   #2
Larry_OHF
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: March 1, 2001
Location: Midlands, South Carolina
Age: 43
Posts: 14,749
Update: McAfee was able to delete the two known files from my game folder and I rebooted and looked for them and they did not return.

I am still spiffed that the virus scanner would not initiate during SafeMode, but at least I can go to bed now. Blasted day its been, y'all.
__________________
Larry_OHF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 05:02 AM   #3
Jorath Calar
Harper
 

Join Date: October 6, 2001
Location: Iceland
Posts: 4,705
Get rid of Macaffe... you are better of with just wishing you don't get a virus than using it.

F-prot is in my opinion the best virus scanner, it does not use up all your memory like Macaffee and Norton (just getting rid of Norton and I felt like I got a brand new computer), it has a very good realtime scanner, its datafiles are updated almost daily, it's cheap, you can buy it and set it up on 3 computer in the same house... and it's Icelandic... doesn't get much better... [img]smile.gif[/img]

[ 11-12-2006, 04:03 AM: Message edited by: Jorath Calar ]
Jorath Calar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 05:55 AM   #4
T-D-C
Ironworks Moderator
 

Join Date: October 26, 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 4,414
If your looking for accuracy there is a 3rd party Website http://www.virusbtn.com that regularly tests all the virus software manufacturers.

Symantec are one of the ONLY to score 100% on all tests. Many other manufacturers fail these in the wild tests and known threat tests.

I know Symantec software can be a resource hog at times though a lot of this has been addressed in the 2007 release.

BTW Larry which virus was it? It is rare for one of our scanners not to pick a virus up, also what version were you running?
__________________
T-D-C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 06:23 AM   #5
ZFR
Legion Symbol
 

Join Date: February 14, 2002
Location: Ireland
Age: 34
Posts: 7,328
So is this the thread where we post which antivirus is best?

If so I recommend Avast!. Been using it for almost a year and it's great. It also got 100% in the virusbulletin tests.

And the Home Edition is completely free.
__________________
ZFR
ZFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 07:35 AM   #6
Sever
Ma'at - Goddess of Truth & Justice
 

Join Date: October 31, 2002
Location: Western Australia
Age: 38
Posts: 3,293
Dunno where AVG scored but it's lower in my books now that they're not offering free coverage after January. I think i'll still go with AVG though. Haven't had any problems since it was installed. The last one, Trend Micro was a shocker. It took weeks of stuffing around before i fixed the damage that it let through: Damage necessary for the anti-virus adware that followed...
__________________
Say say, oh playmate
i cannot play with you
my dolly's got the flu
boo hoo hoo hoo hoo hoo
Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 07:46 AM   #7
Harkoliar
Jack Burton
 

Join Date: March 21, 2001
Location: Philippines, but now Harbor City Sydney
Age: 35
Posts: 5,556
can you guys check where ESET (NOD is another name) in the VBtest 100%? I couldnt register as my activation key hasnt arrived in my email account yet.
__________________

Catch me if you can..
Harkoliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 09:43 AM   #8
andrewas
Harper
 

Join Date: October 2, 2001
Location: Aberdeen, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 4,774
40 success/ 3 failure/ 5 no entries. October was a success, as was every entry since april 02. A better record than Symantech, at 34 success/6 failure/8 no entry, although the most recent failure was back september '99.

@sever - AVG is still free, its just the older version which is being discontinued.
andrewas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 10:10 AM   #9
Harkoliar
Jack Burton
 

Join Date: March 21, 2001
Location: Philippines, but now Harbor City Sydney
Age: 35
Posts: 5,556
cheers andrewas [img]smile.gif[/img]
__________________

Catch me if you can..
Harkoliar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2006, 11:11 AM   #10
ZFR
Legion Symbol
 

Join Date: February 14, 2002
Location: Ireland
Age: 34
Posts: 7,328
and while you're at it andrewas, can you check Avast for me?
__________________
ZFR
ZFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ask a stupid question - get a stupid answer BG Saga Style!!! D*Ranged Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal 28 02-08-2004 03:48 AM
New stupid virus! Megabot General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 14 02-02-2004 03:58 AM
Ask a stupid question get a stupid answer. Triconan General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) 97 11-11-2002 11:36 PM
Stupid question from an equally stupid poster... How do you...? Patty Baldurs Gate II Archives 1 11-11-2001 10:47 AM
Stupid (or maybe not so stupid) Question Jafin Wizards & Warriors Forum 11 05-25-2001 05:20 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved