Visit the Ironworks Gaming Website Email the Webmaster Graphics Library Rules and Regulations Help Support Ironworks Forum with a Donation to Keep us Online - We rely totally on Donations from members Donation goal Meter

Ironworks Gaming Radio

Ironworks Gaming Forum

Go Back   Ironworks Gaming Forum > Ironworks Gaming Forums > Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal > Baldurs Gate II Archives

Old 11-09-2001, 01:18 PM   #1
Jordi
Dungeon Master

Ok, so I am a newbie here. be gentle.

How do I force-attack? I see it refered to all the time and I would love to take out some blue-circled characters from time to time. Covering my ass: I looked through the manula and searched here to no avail.

How can I use entangle or any long-rnage spell? Anytime I spot critters that I wnat to hit with a long range spell, like a fireball or entangle, they get so close by the time that I cast that the spell is pointless or entangles all my party members.
Old 11-09-2001, 01:19 PM   #2
Dreamer128
Dracolisk

You can force attack by clicking on the sword icon and then on the person you want to attack, i would think twice before attacking innocent bystanders though.
Old 11-09-2001, 02:08 PM   #3
Morgeruat
Jack Burton

using the auto-pause function is extremely useful for targetting characters at range, you can go into options and set teh autopause, i tend to autopause on char death, spell cast, weapon unusable (a holdover from bg1 where weapons would break on you, also useful for ranged weapons), and enemy sighted, may be a few more too... if it autopauses when u see an enemy, it often gives you a chance to target them before they see your character, you can also make frequent use of the spacebar to pause the game for spellcasting and mid-combat order changes, like if you wanted to switch weapons quickly
Old 11-09-2001, 02:15 PM   #4
Jordi
Dungeon Master

Thanks.

I have been pausing. The first time I played (I tend to jump in) I didn't know about it and it was an unholy mess.