Quote:
Originally Posted by Memnoch
Yes, but unfortunately if the referee gives a penalty (which he pretty much had to as it was a goal denied) the red card has to follow because Kewell was deemed to have stopped a goalscoring opportunity (whether intentional or not). Just the way the laws work. He can't give a penalty (which is given when goalscoring opportunity has been illegally prevented) and not card him. I agree it didn't look intentional (though he did move his arms wider slightly possibly as reflex) but once the referee gave the penalty that was it for Harry Cool. 
|
K, thanks for the clarification. I understand it now, and look forward to it being contradicted at least once in the remainder of the cup.