Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Neverwinter Nights 1 & 2 Also SoU & HotU Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Useful Weapon Proficiencies? (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=35853)

Beef 01-22-2004 12:14 AM

I'm a NWN newbie wondering what weapon proficiencies I should give my chars. I'm glad the Cleric blunt-weapon-only rule is gone but, I am left with too many choices, I think.

Are there any rules of thumb?

e.g. for a Paladin, 2H-sword vs halberd vs Greataxe

or

for anyone, 2H weapon vs 1H weapon & shield

What about Blackguards or Desciples of Torm? Different from Paladins?

Also, what's the best weapon for Thief/Assassin/Blackguard backstabing?

Any class-specific proficiencies to always make sure to have?

Is it even worthwhile to get weapon proficiencies for any classes besides Fighter?

Illumina Drathiran'ar 01-22-2004 01:16 AM

Personal preference should trump anything we tell you. Which would you rather play... What image do you like more? A paladin wielding a huge sword, or a longsword and shield, or perhaps a polearm? A rogue with a short sword, a dagger, or perhaps both at the same time?
What race is the character?
Sometimes it's best to work with the proficiencies you get... A fighting class (Paladin, Ranger, Fighter) requires you select one or two weapons to focus on (Weapon Focus, Specialization, etc.), while other classes limit you to Weapon Focus... and why take that when fighting with a weapon isn't the highlight of said class?
Weapon Finesse is a must if you're a rogue or a nonfighter char with higher Dex than Strength... I don't know.. I don't blame you for being overwhelmed.
For a paladin, though, I would suggest, in the end, a greatsword or bastard sword...
::runs fingers through hair::