Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Baldurs Gate II: Shadows of Amn & Throne of Bhaal (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Mods question (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=16267)

Stonewarrior 02-03-2005 09:43 PM

Hi, a quick mods question from one who has never tried one. If you install would you have to start a new a game them to usable? This is my first time playing SoA so there wouldn't be many I would want to try, but I was curious.

shamrock_uk 02-03-2005 10:27 PM

It really depends on the mods you want to try. Most of them would work from the point of install. Some NPC mods would be unaccesable because they're picked up inside Irenicus' dungeon.

If you tell us the ones you have an eye on we could give a more definite answer...

Nerull 02-03-2005 10:28 PM

Depends on the mod. If it is something small like the bonus merchants, you should not have to restart. But anything that makes any serious changes you probably do. Safest bet is to restart if you add a mod.

However, a piece of advice: don't download mods until you finish the game the first time through. The only things you should download and install are the official patch (obvious reasons) and the Baldurdash fixpacks (which fix errors in the game as well). This will allow you to enjoy the game as it was originally designed, then afterwards you can tinker with the game to your heart's content.

Stonewarrior 02-04-2005 09:14 AM

Thanks for the info. The main mods I was considering would be the bonus merchant and the bottomless bag. I just never seem to have enough space for everything. lol I still haven't installed the patch or fix pack...not sure why. I only seem to think about it while reading the forum at work and not when I am home playing.

Kestrel Daystar 02-04-2005 09:25 AM