Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Dragon Age™ Origins (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=43)
-   -   Awakening - Game shutting down. (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101410)

Sparhawk 03-21-2010 03:47 PM

Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
After installing the expansion for DAO - I have now experienced a LOT of game crashes and I wanted to hear if I am the only one ( cause then I need to re-install ) alas I do believe its the expansion and I am hoping for a patch soon.

Kyrvias 03-22-2010 06:43 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
<color = mediumspringgreen> I've had only one crash, and that was using the Sleep + Horror spell combo. It hit the bandit, and BAM. crash. </font>

Sparhawk 03-23-2010 08:41 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
*I think I am currently at crash number 19 over 4 days...its annoying.

Epona 03-30-2010 04:57 PM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
No you're not the only one, the game was very stable for me before I patched to 1.03 and installed Awakening.

Although tbh it is hard for me to tell, my current gaming PC has 2 processors positioned close together so extremely limited cooling options, my flat gets warm, and it's getting to that time of year when it starts overheating... I really need to start saving for a new 'puter.

Greything 03-31-2010 07:30 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
I'm getting crashes with Awakening too.

Mostly they occur during fights when there are a lot of spells and instructions flying about.

This did not happen in Origins so I am inclined to suspect that the culprit is the game itself or the 1.03 patch rather than my PC.

It is annoying. I find now that I am having to save game much more often than I would normally.

Kakero 04-01-2010 12:54 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
The game keep on giving me memory error at launch. Uninstall and reinstall it gives no remedy. Me thinks it's better I return this game to the game shop before I make myself bald.

Sparhawk 04-01-2010 06:16 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
I sincerely doubt it is the PC - mine is a fully updated quad core with 8 gig ram and a 2 gig videocard - if that is the culprit I will hang myself in the attic...

I also have the feeling it happens during fights alot - and it is a pain since I am a really bad savegamer...

T-D-C 04-02-2010 10:49 PM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
Yeah My PC before Patch 1.03 ran the game fine. Now during fights the whole game slows down to a crawl.

TheCrimsomBlade 04-04-2010 02:52 PM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
I have to go with T-D-C I'm running a Intel Core i7 960 with 6 GB DDR3 1600Mhz Memory over clocked to 3.6Ghz with 2 crossfire ATI Radeon 5870 video cards with a 1200 W power supply and as I start any battle the computer would go into slow motion and 1 out of 5 times it would do a stop and go freeze then just freeze all together.
This never happened until I added the 1.03 Patch so I took the save game file copied it and uninstalled the game reinstalled and dropped the save games back in started at a slightly earlier save then where the freeze occurred and haven't had any trouble since.
I suggest don't apply the 1.03 Patch if you want to play. At least not until Bioware & EA does a fix.
For the $40.00 charge for the upgrade to Expansion and Then making us pay for storage of loot Dragon Age is really starting to stink.
Dan

Sparhawk 04-05-2010 08:54 AM

Re: Awakening - Game shutting down.
 
I found this while browsing the tech support forums on Bioware.

This is mostly applicable to AMD multi proc computers - so for my instance a Quad 3.0 needed some tweaking - I am about to test it out now to see if it works.



Fix for Crashing to Desktop on Multi-core systems (also slows the memory leakage)
This applies especially to AMD processors but also affects some Intel Core 2 Duo and Core 2 quads!
For dual core set to CPU 1 only, for quad core set to CPU 2 and 3, for i7s set to 4, 5, 6, and 7.

Set processor affinity
Open windows Task Manager. Right click on the Taskbar of your windows vista desktop and select Task Manager or press Ctrl+Shift+Esc to open Windows Task Manager
Click on the Processes tab
Click on the Show processes from all users button, at the bottom
Click the Continue button for UAC prompt
Right click the process (application) whose processor affinity you want to change
Click Set Affinity
Check the CPU(s) that you want the process (application) to run on and click OK


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:07 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2017 Ironworks Gaming TM & The Great Escape Studios - All Rights Reserved