Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   General Conversation Archives (11/2000 - 01/2005) (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Hi, im new to these type of games.. (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=92026)

Luke84 10-25-2004 12:26 AM

I have just started playing these D&D type games and had some questions i wanted to ask. I have just bought Baldurs Gate II + ToB and played right through the game and had a lot of fun. I was wondering if any of the other games on this forum (Icewind Dale NWN etc..) follow the same storyline or are they completly different games? I ask this because I saw screenshots of Icewind Dale II and noticed it had the same graphics as Baldurs Gate II.

My other question is, what other games that are like Baldurs Gate would you reccomend me buying?

Thanks

Hivetyrant 10-25-2004 12:31 AM

I would suggest buying Planescape-Torment, it kicks ass.
Icewind dale, uses the same engine and graphics but is slighly different in storyline.
NWN is completely different, graphics wise and story wise, but both are very good games(although I havnt really played Icewind dale)

T-D-C 10-25-2004 12:44 AM

Hi Luke,

Welcome to Ironworks!

The good thing about alot of the games that you have mentioned is that they are made by Bioware.

BG2, Icewind Dale 1&2 are all good games.

BG2 is great for its story as you ahve already started seeing. Icewind Dale is more focused on hack n slash as there is no party interaction (you create the entire party yourself)

If you can find it Planescape: Torment is a GREAT RPG. infact I just recently sold my copy of Planescape to the the above poster. Check the bargin bins in your computer stores and you should find it.