Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Wizards & Warriors Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=14)
-   -   Do I need the patch? Is the patch safe? (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=32818)

Lord Buckthor 08-09-2004 01:12 PM

I have seen that there is a patch for the game and before I started the game I wanted to see if I need it and what it does. I also read that it not aproved by activision and is not tested.
Tank you.
Buckthor

Bungleau 08-09-2004 01:40 PM

Welcome to the boards, Buckthor! [img]graemlins/happywave.gif[/img] May the only surprises you discover in the Gael Serran be the ones that are supposed to be there [img]smile.gif[/img]

As for your question... The patch is safe. I've been running with it for almost two years now. There are others who prefer not to use it, and that they like some of the bugs that it fixes.

There's a post on the Best Tips thread that covers what the patch giveth, taketh away, and doeth nothing for. That should give you the best indication of whether you want to patch or not. I started patching because I kept crashing when leaving one dungeon; hasn't been a problem since.

*edit* click here for that post. */edit*

If you're just getting started, let me also suggest that you read the Tech Tips thread. There are a number of things that can be frustrating when you get started, especially if you're playing on Windows XP or 2000, and we've identified those problems and their resolutions. It may save you a lot of frustration... :D

Oh, and about Activision's position on the game... they released it some five years ago, and officially, it doesn't work on anything higher than Win98 or maybe Me. They're also not going to put a lot of effort into addressing problems on a five-year-old game. We know differently here, and rumour has it that occasionally, Activision support quotes Ironworks when responding to problems :D