Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Baldurs Gate II Archives (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   How to defeat Magic Users? (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=49186)

Tenser 12-05-2000 05:59 PM

I'm relatively new to BG II. In the Temple Sewers, I ran into this group with a mage named Gaius. Immediately, she puts up all sorts of protections making weapons, arrows, spealls magical nothwistanding completely ineffective. Now, this seems kind of imbalanced to me. Anyone have a strategy on how to compete this without having a powerful spell caster in the group to bring down the mage's magical defenses?

I'm a fighter character, and right now completely helpless. She just stands there casting spell after spell and none of my attacks harm her. I've tried every kind of attack both magical and non-magical, she is immune to them all yet can freely cast spells out of this seemingly invicible sphere she is in. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

bpm07 12-05-2000 06:03 PM

Use spells such as Pierce magic, Breach, Remove magic, Dispel Magic etc. They will remove magic protections on the mage and leave him at the mercy of your sword. The manual describes all these spells pretty well and as you level up higher you can use some really mean penetration spells. But those I mentioned WILL do the trick.

Good luck.

Tenser 12-05-2000 06:11 PM

This may sound like a stupid question, but if I haven't a mage in my group powerful enough to cast those spells--except for Dispel Magic, which didn't work--I'm pretty much helpless in defeating a powerful mage with scores of protection spells cast?

fitz 12-05-2000 06:16 PM