Ironworks Gaming Forum

Ironworks Gaming Forum (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/index.php)
-   Dungeon Craft - RPG Game Maker (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Feature request - wall step thru event (http://www.ironworksforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=101454)

manikus 04-28-2010 04:45 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Shadow Stranger (Post 1239756)
As long as it did not slow the game down any.
Presumably you would call "wall" step events before the other step events, the party goes through the wall before it steps into the square.
You could add a tool to the Editor to automatically place wall events as step events right throughout the level.

Paul already answered this, but just to be clear, using a step event means that you don't have to place events throughout your level. :) You just create the event one time and have DC check every time the party takes a step.

Shadow Stranger 04-28-2010 09:16 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
I was confusing step events with placed events. If it only has to look at 0-4 surrounding walls that would not be too hard.
Edit:
You will need to encode for cases like teleporting, overriding the wall step event.

Paul Stevens 04-28-2010 09:39 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
We might have to add some sort of global
ASL entry that remembers the latest mode
of transportation. We could even put the
wall type in there for you to make things
simpler. Those kind of things are very 'local'
and easy to add / debug / document. Adding
a new event type is very much more painful.

SilentThief 04-29-2010 06:50 AM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Seems to me that you would not need to. You simply set a flag variable in a quest or ASL (since I've been asked what this means before, I'll tell you: a flag variable is slang (?) for a true/false type of variable, as in the variable will always be either zero or one). Something like this:
event: quest "teleport_use" = 1
event teleport
event chain at local location
(if teleport_use = 1 then... blah blah - you know what goes here)
event: utilities quest "teleport_use" = 0

ST

Paul Stevens 04-29-2010 10:09 AM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
If you are telling me that you can make it work
without my help, I am willing to believe. ;-)

But I am also willing to do simple things that
make life a lot easier for you. 'Tis all a tradeoff
and everything has its price. Let me know if
things get too messy and a little help would
make a big difference.

Shadow Stranger 05-06-2010 10:47 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Okay, I ported the Dark Queen of Krynn walls to a DC design. If anyone wants to try placing step events, the design can be found at:
http://ua.reonis.com/index.php?topic=981.msg9310#new
At some point I will need to correct a lot of the backgrounds. The design currently only contains the walls, none of the events.
You will find that level 22 is the Tower of Flame.

SilentThief 05-24-2010 06:49 AM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
=== Re-jacking this thread back to the topic of step-thru event. ===

Now that I've played around with this I have run into a problem. How do you "read" a wallslot? I mean, as designer I have creative control so I should know where my walls are, but is there a way to check conditionally? Like looking at Manikus' tutorial I see how to change walls with logic block, it shows how to change a wallslot into another (the empty/blank wall) and back. I see on the logic block event that the input "gates" have Level ASL as a choice, and that seems like the right idea; but how do you set that up? I mean, I think it might work if I set up ONE event to look at the "$Wall,3,5,north" and see if that is equal to wallslot 3.

By that logic (if it worked, since I haven't tried this do to my logic of the rest of this statement...) I would have to have a logic block event for 96 wallslots x 4 directions x "10 x 10" ( 10x10 being minimum size level)? 38400 events? Manikus did say that we can cut and paste events...:P

Ok, how about this:
The ASL scripts all come in pairs (get and set):

$GET_PARTY_ASL(String)
$SET_PARTY_ASL(String, String)

$GET_CHAR_ASL(String, String)
$SET_CHAR_ASL( String, String, String )

$GET_GLOBAL_ASL(String)
$SET_GLOBAL_ASL(String, String)

$SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL( String, String, String )
$DELETE_LEVEL_STATS_ASL(String, String)

and I see there is a script that says $SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL( String, String, String ) with string string string logically being $SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL(level, stat, value). I do NOT see a get_level_stats_asl, so I'm stumped on this side as well. Any Ideas?

What would work for this AFAIK would be a $GET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL(level, stat) script, which we don't have :( then I could check every step the party coordinate location X,Y and the walls at X,Y.

ST
ps, If you know how to do this please tell me

Paul Stevens 05-24-2010 09:47 AM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Hmmmmm. a curious omission.
No idea why that happened. Perhaps
the 'LEVEL_STATS' were added much
later than the others and I only added
what I needed to produce a demo.

$GET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL will be added.
If you are doing work with DC, perhaps
now is the time to start using the soon-
to-be-released versions. It could use
some testing outside of the development
team. If so, let me know and I will supply
a version with your needed function. That
is, if Manikus says it is all right.

manikus 05-24-2010 04:03 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul Stevens (Post 1240279)
Hmmmmm. a curious omission.
No idea why that happened. Perhaps
the 'LEVEL_STATS' were added much
later than the others and I only added
what I needed to produce a demo.

$GET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL will be added.
If you are doing work with DC, perhaps
now is the time to start using the soon-
to-be-released versions. It could use
some testing outside of the development
team. If so, let me know and I will supply
a version with your needed function. That
is, if Manikus says it is all right.

Paul, if you could also add a "$SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASK" I would be so very happy. :) It would help a lot of us allowing teleportation outside of a stairs/transfer mod event.

Also, ST, you don't need to check for every wall and door for a sound, only that special one or two - it's easier to check for one or two, as a step or zone event than doing what you're suggesting, still Paul has a great solution. :D

Paul Stevens 05-24-2010 05:26 PM

Re: Feature request - wall step thru event
 
Quote:

if you could also add a "$SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASK
Huh?

There is a $SET_LEVEL_STATS_ASL already.
IS that what you mean? Or what?


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:15 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©2024 Ironworks Gaming & ©2024 The Great Escape Studios TM - All Rights Reserved